Agenda item

Election of the Mayor of Southwark 2020-21


The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Barrie Hargrove, welcomed everyone to the meeting. 


The clerk announced that the leaders of each political group wished to make a statement.


Thereafter, Councillors Peter John and Nick Johnson paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor.


The clerk asked for nominations for Mayor for the ensuing municipal year 2020-21.


Councillor Peter John, seconded by Councillor Rebecca Lury, moved that Councillor Barrie Hargrove be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Southwark for the municipal year 2020-21.


The nomination was put to the vote and it was:


RESOLVED:  That Councillor Barrie Hargrove be elected Mayor for the 2020-21 municipal year.


Councillor Barrie Hargrove accepted the office of Mayor.  The clerk declared that Councillor Barrie Hargrove was duly elected Mayor of Southwark for 2020-21. 


The new Mayor signed the declaration of acceptance of office and took the chair. 


The new Mayor stated that he appointed Mary Doherty as the Mayor's consort.


The new Mayor appointed Councillor Sunil Chopra as Deputy Mayor. 


The new Mayor gave his incoming speech and announced that his chosen charities would be the MumMum Foundation, Camberwell Choir School and Art Academy London, supported by Councillor Sandra Rhule during her tenure as Mayor of Southwark 2019-20.