Agenda item


To elect a Mayor for the municipal year 2016/17.


The outgoing Mayor, Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle, welcomed everyone to the meeting.  Thereafter she welcomed Councillor James Coldwell following his election as councillor for Newington ward and Councillor Catherine Rose following her election as councillor for College ward.


The outgoing Mayor announced that the leaders of each political group wished to make a statement.


Thereafter, Councillors Peter John, Anood Al-Samerai and Michael Mitchell paid tribute to the outgoing Mayor.


The outgoing Mayor asked for nominations for Mayor for the ensuing municipal year 2016/17.


Councillor Peter John, seconded by Councillor Stephanie Cryan, moved that Councillor Kath Whittam be elected Mayor of the London Borough of Southwark for the municipal year 2016/17.


The nomination was put to the vote and it was:


RESOLVED:  That Councillor Kath Whittam be elected Mayor for the 2016/17 municipal year.


Councillor Kath Whittam accepted the office of Mayor.  The outgoing Mayor declared that Councillor Kath Whittam was duly elected Mayor of Southwark for 2016/17. 


The outgoing Mayor, Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle invested the new Mayor, Councillor Kath Whittam, with the chain of office.  The new Mayor signed the declaration of acceptance of office and took the chair. 


Thereafter, the outgoing Mayor was presented with a replica of the Mayoral badge of the London Borough of Southwark.


The new Mayor stated that her consort would be her husband, Dr Julian Holmes, and that family and friends would accompany her to some events.  The new Mayor’s consort was presented with a badge.


The new Mayor appointed Councillor Charlie Smith as Deputy Mayor.  His consort will be his wife, Mrs Sue Smith.  The Deputy Mayor was invested with the badge of office.


The outgoing  Mayor, Councillor Dora Dixon-Fyle, gave her outgoing speech. 


The new Mayor gave her incoming speech and announced that her chosen charities would be the National Autistic Society and Surrey Docks Farm.